Lizzie Ball

Creator and Owner of Classical Kicks/Classical Kicks Productions Ltd

Those who have seen northern English violinist Lizzie Ball play agree she isn’t what you’d expect when you think of a classical musician.

Lizzie’s performances are engagingly flavoured with jazz, world, folk, bluegrass and rock. Her high impact musical experiences deliver a modern and creative touch, rejuvenating the fundamentals of the classical genre. These embellishments to her sound, the freedom of her improvisation, a different take on execution and a supplementing of various styles, create an unexpected result. Lizzie’s venture ‘Classical Kicks’, was born out of a desire to lead the current UK scene of like-minded classical talent perform in a more down-to-earth environment. Lizzie’s renaissance approach attracted a long term residency at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club in Soho and she has since created a family show, children’s workshops, and a even a club classics meets classical instruments collaboration with DJ and Bestival Founder Rob da Bank.


The artists who form the Classical Kicks family include some of Europe’s brightest talent alongside some of the old school legends of the industry. These include:

Lizzie Ball – violin and vocals

James Pearson – Artistic Director and house pianist of Ronnie Scotts is resident pianist for Classical Kicks

Thomas Gould – violin

Navarra Quartet

G Project (Gabriella Swallow cello and Genevieve Wilkins percussion)

Njabulo Madlala

Barbara Barradas

Chi-Chi Nwanoku MBE

Blue Topaz

Sideris Quintet 

Morgan Szymanski and Machaca (Emma Smith-bass, Gemma Rosefield/Minat Lyons – cello, Phong Nghuyen-accordion)

Classico Latino


Una Palliser

Santiago Quartet/Ahmed Dickinson

Aquinas Piano Trio (Ruth Rogers, Katherine Jenkinson and Martin Cousin)

Versus Duo : Abe Mcwilliams (violin) and Martynas Levickis (accordion)

Andrew Joyce : cello

James Turner: percussion

Sam Burgess: bass

Laura Mitchell (soprano)

CLASSICAL KICKS SEPT 30 2012 – Photography credit – Tom Bowles

Bernard Gregor-Smith – cello

Pedro Segundo – percussion

Filip Kowalski – viola